Skip links



The Governing Council has statutory power by law and bears the ultimate responsibility for the progress and development of the institution.  The Council makes major policy decisions and evolves all the necessary criteria with specific emphasis on the planning and the development of physical facilities and assets.

The first Governing Council for the Polytechnic was constituted in February, 1981 with Alhaji Y.A. B. Olatunji as the Chairman.


The Academic Board is composed of:

  • Rector                                                     – Chairman
  • Deputy Rector                                       – Member
  • Polytechnic Librarian                          – Member
  • All Heads of Departments                  – Members
  • Not more than two members of the Academic staff, elected by the Academic Staff.
  • All Chief Lectures
  •  All-Academic Directors
  • Registrar                                                   – Secretary

The Academic Board is responsible for:

i) The direction and management of academic matters of the Polytechnic including the regulation of admission of students, the award of certificates and diplomas, scholarship, prizes, and other academic decisions.

ii) Making available to the Council of such periodic reports on such academic matters as the Academic Board may think fit or as the Council may, from time to time direct.

iii) The discharge of any other functions which the council may delegate to it.

The Polytechnic has the following statutory and Standing Committees:

  1. Finance and General Purpose Committees. It has the following powers:

i) Approval of the Polytechnic annual estimates.

ii) Approval of the Polytechnic working budget

iii) Consideration and award of contracts of works or supplies.

iv) Any matters relating to the finances of the Polytechnic

2. Appointments and Promotions Committee (Senior Staff): The Committee is responsible for making recommendation to the Governing Council on the Appointment, Promotion, Confirmation, Transfer of Service, Discipline and Development of all categories of senior staff.

3. Appointments and Promotions Committee (Junior Staff): This Committee makes recommendations to the Rector on appointment, confirmation, promotion, transfer of service and discipline of the junior staff.

4. Committee on Students Affairs:  This Committee has the principal objective of considering any matter which related to the general welfare of the students of the Institution.


The administrative Division of the Polytechnic is made up of:

  1. Rector’s office or Rectory
  2. Registry
  3. Bursary
  4. Physical Planning Unit
  5. Works and Services
  6. Medical Centre


The Rector’s Office is one of the major non-academic departments of the Institution.  It is headed by the Rector who is also the Chief Executive of the Polytechnic.  The following were Rectors/Acting Rectors of the Polytechnic at various times.

  1. Engr. M.O. Anyiam 1979 – 1982
  2. Engr. M.E. Essien (Acting) 1982 – 1983
  3. Mr. A.W. Omotowa (Acting) 1983
  4. Engr. Aminu Aliyu 1983 – 1991
  5. Late Chief J.S. Bamgbose (Acting) 1991 – 1992
  6. Dr. Musa L. Audu 1992 – 2000
  7. Surv. Ibrahim S. Jahun 2000 – 2009
  8. Engr. Dr. E.E. Ndububa (Acting) 2009 – 2010
  9. Engr. Dr. Shuaibu M. Musa             2010 – 2017
  10. Arc. Sanusi Waziri Gumau 2018 – Date

The Department consists of operational units that are headed by unit heads.  The operational units include:-

  1. Main Rector’s Office
  2. Deputy Rector’s Office
  3. Academic Planning Unit
  4. Physical Planning Unit
  5. Security Unit
  6. Internal Audit Unit
  7. Public Relations, Information & Protocol Unit
  8. ICT/MIS Unit
  9. SIWES Unit
  10. SERVICOM Unit
  11. Procurement Unit
  12. Intellectual Property Technology Transfer Office (IPTTO)
  13. Entrepreneurial Development Centre
  14. Consultancy Services Unit
  15. Directorate of University Affiliation and Linkages
  16. Research and Development


The Registry Department is the administrative arm of the Polytechnic and is divided into:

  1. Central Administration (Registrar’s Office),
  2. Sanitation
  3. Staff Development
  4. Academic Division,
  • Establishments Division,
  1. Students Affairs Division
  2. Guidance and Counselling
  3. Sports
  4. Legal Unit.

The mission of the Registry is to ensure academic excellence through effective advise on formulation and execution of Policies and provision of other support services.

From inception of the Polytechnic, the Registry was headed by the following:

  1. Mr. Duro Orisanaiye (Acting) 1979 – 1981
  2. Alhaji Y.M. Baba 1981 – 1985
  3. Mr. Duro Orisanaiye (Acting) 1985 – 1986
  4. Alhaji Ibrahim Ashu Abubakar 1986 – 1993
  5. Mr. D.S.I. Nwachukwu (Acting) 1993 – 1999
  6. Late Mr. Yila M. Maikano 1999 – 2003
  7. Mal. L. Ibrahim 2003 – 2013
  8. Haj. Rakiya U. Maleka                                   2013 – Date


The Bursary Department is headed by the Bursar.  This Department became autonomous and therefore self-accounting in April, 1980 and is responsible for the management and control of the finances of the Polytechnic.  It performs its function through the various sections (units) under it.

The following headed the department at various times:

  1. Mr. Nebo Ozo-Nevo (Acting) 1979-1982
  2. Mr. Lateef Aboyomi Asuni 1982
  3. Mal. H.M. Kafarati (Acting) 1984-1985
  4. Mal. J.T. Yakubu (Acting) 1985-1987
  5. Mal. Jimoh A. Ibrahim (Acting) 1987-1988
  6. Alh. Ali Ahmadu 1988-1998
  7. Mal. Ahmed Mai Goloma 1999-2009
  8. Alh. Yahaya Ado 2009 to 2019
  9. Alh. Idris Damare 2019 to date

The Annual External Auditor’s Report on our activities is a testimony of the Departments capability and effectiveness.

The Bursary Department has the following units:

  1. Main Bursar’s Office
  2. Final Accounts Unit
  3. Cash Office (Treasury)
  4. Salary and Wages
  5. Loans and Advances
  6. Stores (Inventory Control)
  7. Expenditure Control and Budgeting
  8. Students Account
  9. Insurance/Pension Matters.
  10. Bank Reconciliation