Head of Medical Office

The Medical Centre was established at the inception of the Polytechnic in 1979. It started with Senior Nursing Sister in-charge, one clinic attendant and one dispenser. Presently the Medical Centre has two Doctors, nine Nursing Officers, six Clinic Assistants, two Community Health Technicians, one Pharmacy, one Laboratory Technologist, one Higher Executive Officer, one Secretary and two Card Issuers. The Department is divided into the Central Administration (Head of Medical Office), Nursing Division, Antenatal and Family Planning Division, Pharmacy Division and Laboratory Division.

Purpose: The purpose of the Medical Centre is to provide quality health care services to the students, staff and their dependants.

Services Available: The services available include routine consultation of Patients, Dispensing of drugs to patients, Treatment of minor ailments and wounds, Health Education, Counselling Services, Admission and in-patient care, Antenatal Care and Delivery Services, Immunization against childhood diseases, arrange for the immunization of the community against deadly diseases from time to time, routine medical examination of fresh students, inspection of students hostel, staff quarters and school premises in order to ensure environmental sanitation.

The Medical Centre operates 24-hour service throughout the weekdays.  A Doctor is always on call after the Clinic hours to attend to emergencies.  While experienced staff nurses work three shifts each day to keep the centre open round the clock.  The ante-natal clinic takes care of pregnant wives of staff and pregnant married students.

The followings have served as head of the department.

  1. Mrs. L.P. Anye Abere – 1979-1980
  2. Mrs. C.A. Udje – 1980-1982
  3. Dr. Rogers K. Asani – 1982-1990
  4. Dr. M. Ajibola – 1990-1991
  5. Dr. F. Nweke – 1991-1994
  6. Dr. M.O. Diaro – 1994
  7. Dr. D.B. Idi – 1994 to date